Numbers down, donations up

Numbers down, donations up

The Lone Cone Legacy Trust, Norwood’s endowment for making community grants, held the third-annual Pioneer Day Car Show on Sept. 30. This year, the event drew a total of 29 cars. 

Doug Olson, an event committee member, said the numbers were not as high as the trust had hoped for. Still, the event was a success, he said.

“It was a rainy week, (with) predicted rain the day of the show,” he said. “But once again, everyone seemed to really enjoy being part of the show, and the spectator participation was excellent.”

Olson said he was happy that many local owners came out to show their cars. He said the handmade trophies, created by Charlie Bauch, were very popular.

Here are the categories and the winners:

• 4×4: First place, Matt Johnson (1974 Chevrolet K10); second place, Mark Neyens (1968 Toyota Landcruiser); third place, Zach Hampton (1971 Willy’s Jeepster Commando).

• Muscle cars: First place, John Reams (1967 Ford Fairlane XL); second place, Mike Worthington (1964 1/2 Mustang); third place, Butch Radford (2007 Mustang).

• Special interest: First place, Chris Sorden (1964 Dodge 330); second place, Finn Kjome (1942 Ford GPW); third place, John Elder (Studebaker Wrecker).

• Motorcycles: First place, Nolan Merrill (2009 Harley-Davidson); second place, Butch Radford (2015 Harley-Davidson).

• Hot rods: First place, Bob Byers, (1935 Dodge); second place, Bob Burdick (1948 Anglia LT-1).

• Custom cars: First place, Virgil Smith (1963 1/2 Ford 302); second place, Nolan Merrill (1949 Chevy Sedan).

• Rat rods: First place, Lyle Rice (400 rat rod); second place, Mikey Young (1929 Ford 302).

• Unfinished cars: First place, Finn Kjome (1956 Willy’s DJ 3A); second place, Steve Sherman (1987 Suzuki Samurai).

• Antiques: First place, Robert and Pat Siebert (1931 Ford Model A).

• Classics: First place, Larry Rhine (1970 Chevy Nova 350); second place, Ward and Heather Priestly (1968 Ford Mustang).

• Pickups: First place, Kevin Dull (1978 Ford F-150); second place, Paul Newton (2005 Dodge SRT Viper); third place, Matt Johnson (1974 Chevrolet K10).

• Imports: First place, Paul Newton (1977 Triumph Spitfire).

• The Best Paint Award went to John Reams (1967 Ford Fairlane).

• The Furthest Travelled Award went to Robert and Pat Siebert for the 1931 Ford Model A that came from Ignacio in hail and rain.

• Nolan Merrill took the Hard Luck Story trophy for the 1949 Sedan Delivery that was the late Chris Romaine’s.

• Lyle Rice won the Darrell Elder Award for 400 Rat Rod that had parts from 1920-2003.

• The People’s Choice Award went to Larry Rhine (1970 Chevy Nova 350).

• Best of Show went to Chris Sorden (1964 Dodge 330 with the 426 Hemi).

Olson and LCLT president Carrie Andrew said volunteers like Kenny King, Corey Cook, Nolan Merrill, Mary Olson, Ashley Woodward and Simon Andrew helped make the show possible.

Olson and Andrew also said they were grateful for Ray Cody showcasing three motorcycles at the event and also making a donation to the Lone Cone Legacy Trust.

“This year, the trust received a special surprise in the form of a donation of approximately $ 1,200 from Ray Cody and Telluride Festival of Cars and Colors. We cannot fully express our gratitude to the volunteers and donors that made this year such a success,” Andrew said. “Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.”

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Google Alert – harley davidson news

About Craig Ballantyne 15178 Articles
I love anything to do with Harley Davidson and have two beautiful children and a beautiful partner. In my spare time i like building websites and love anything to do with the internet.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.