Central Mountains Region Car Show results

Central Mountains Region Car Show results

Thousands of people were at the Clearfield Driving Park on Sunday for the Central Mountains Region Antique Automobile Club of America when it held its 41st Annual Antique and Custom Auto Show.

This years show was sponsored by FORD and Dotts Motor Company of Clearfield, who had a display of vehicles on hand for the spectators to view.

The day started out cool and turned into a beautiful day to have owners show their vehicles, 114 cars, trucks, vans, motorcycles and trikes were registered for display. This year was a judge show and vehicle owners were requested to have a Fire Extinguisher to be judged.

The crowd was entertained by Lil’ Man Sound Production and there was an indoor and outdoor flea market. Ricco’s Concessions and Steak on a Stick had a wide arrangement of food for the spectators to enjoy. Boy Scout Troop 2 of Clearfield holds their annual bake sale at the car show.

This year’s “Car of the Year” was a 1984 El Camino, owned by Rich and Lori Yarger of West Decatur and was featured on this years, Central Mountains Region, AACA annual wine, by Starr Hill Vineyard and Winery.

The car classes, trophy sponsors and award-winners are as follows:

Class A, Antique Class –to 1933: Sponsored by: Dotts Motor Co., Inc –first place, 1930 Ford Model A, Dave Walk, Tyrone.; second place, 1931 Desoto SA, Ed Hinkle, Pleasant Gap; third place, 1922 Franklin Touring, Mac Dufton, Clearfield.

Class B, Antique Class –1934-1949: Sponsored by: Central Mountains Region, AACA, first place, 1938 Pontiac DA 6 Touring, John Inlow, Clearfield.

Class C, Antique Class –1920-1966: Sponsored by: Bumbarger Auto Repair -first place, 1965 Ford Mustang, Mike Kopera, Carrolltown; 1955 Ford Customline, Robert & Rebecka Risbon, Altoona; 1966 Chevy Caprice, Bob Topinka, Philipsburg.

Class D, Antique Class –1967-1974: Sponsored by: Lindsie Wisor -State Farm Insurance –first place, 1971 Buick GS, Randy Fulton, DuBoi.; second place, 1967 Dodge Coronet R/T, Larry Turchetta, Altoona; third place, 1969 Chevy Yenko Camaro, Tony & Janet Torrell, Reynoldsville.

Class E, Classic Class –1975-1992: Sponsored by: Moyer Auto Body –first place, 1978 Pontiac Firebird, Jason Stanton, Smithmill; second place, 1986 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme, Joel Stanton, Philipsburg; third place, 1978 Ford T-Bird, Don Kelly, Clearfield.

Class F, Classic Cars –1993-2002 Sponsored by: Dick’s Pit Stop, Osceola Mills –first place, 1966 Ford Mustang GT, Colton Silas Ralston, Glasgow; second place, 1977 Chevy Camaro z/28, John Lewis, Punxsutawney, Pa.

Class G, 2 Seater Sport Cars to 1992: Sponsored by: American Legion Post 6 of Clearfield –first place, 1988 Pontiac Fiero GT, Joyce McDonald, Woodland; second place, 1986 Mercedes SL 560, Steve Celinski, Clearfield; third place, 1989 Corvette Convertible, Chic Sunderland, Curwensville.

Class H, 2-seater Sports Cars 1993-2002: Sponsored by: Super 322 Drive In Theater –first place, 2001 BMW 2-3 Roadster, Joe Whitton, Mahaffey; second place, 1993 Chevy Corvette, Ken & Val McFarland, Punxsutawney; third place, 2002 Chevy Corvette, Corvette Carol, Curwensville.

Class I, Commercial to 2002: Sponsored by: Central Mountains Region, AACA –No Entrants.

Class J, Most Original unrestored 1900-1977: Sponsored by: Thompson & Buck Inc. –first place, 1976 Plymouth Feather Duster, Mark Coudriet, Curwensville, second place, 1970 Buick Electra 225, Dwight Smalley, McElahattan; third place, 1971 Ford Bronco, Jobe Vogel, Brockport.

Class K, Street Rods thru 1950: Sponsored by: Bob & Darlene Brown Family –first place, 1932 Ford Victoria, Tom Smith, Altoona; second place, 1931 Dodge DH Coupe, Dan O’Dell, St. Marys; third place, 1923 Ford T-Bucket, Scott Robillard, DuBois.

Class L, Modified Cars 1951-1976: Sponsored by: In Memory of Russell Raecher –first place, 1951 Chevy Hardtop, Roger Miles, Irvona; second place, 1976 Dodge, Dart Sport, Rick Sabul, Morrisdale; third place, 1970 Ford Mustang, Larry & Shirley Lewis, Rochester Mills.

Class M, Modified Cars 1977-2002: Sponsored by: Ogden Legacy Inc. Insurance –first place, 1979 Chevy Camaro, John Thorn, Clearfield; second place, 1929 Ford (Shay) Model A, Marge & Roger Steele, Punxsutawney; third place, 1992 Buick Regal, Mary Ann & Jim Osewalt, Houtzdale.

Class N, Street Trucks to 1970: Sponsored by: Bender Automotive –first place, 1959 Chevy El Camino, Frank Swartz, Ginter; second place, 1959 Chevy 3700 Robert Billotte, Clearfield.

Class O, Street Trucks 1971 –2002: Sponsored by: Kim Kesner, Attorney at Law –first place, 1987 Chevy Silverado 4×4, Ed & Barb Hamilton, Glasgow; second place, 1983 Jeep CJ8 Scramble, Mark Hegey, Clearfield; third place, 1996 Ford F150, Cody Holochwost, Clearfield.

Class P. All Modified Trucks/Vans to 2002: Sponsored by: Full Throttle Signs –first place, 1954 Ford F150, Brad Sinclair, Fallen Timber; second place, 1983 Chevy El Camino, Rodney Fox, Fallen Timber; third place, 1987 Dodge Ram, Allen Zortman, Mahaffey.

Class Q, Motorcycle Class –American Brand –All years to Present: Sponsored by: Starr Hill Vineyard and Winery –first place, 2006 Santee Chopper, Scott Robilland, Clearfield; second place, 20017 Harley Davison FLSS, Larry Nicklas, Clearfield; third place, 2004 Harley Davidson Sportster, Jim Prait, Hyde.

Class R. Motorcycle Class –Foreign Brand –All years to Present: Sponsored by: Grice Gun Shop –No Entrants.

Class S. Motorcycle Class –All Trike’s Brand –All years to Present: Sponsored by: The Len Mullen’s Family- first place, 2003 Harley Davison Ultra Glide Trike, Dave & Beradine

Rebar, Clearfield; second place, 2016 Harley Davidson Trike, Jim Grimm, Clearfield, Pa; third place, Trike, Paul Breth, Grampian.

Class T. AACA National Award Winners: Sponsored by: Central Mountains

Region, AACA –1980 Dodge Mirada, Dave Powers, Rural Valley.

President’s Trophy, sponsored by Central Mountains Region, A.A.C.A. and awarded by Central Mountains Region President, David Raecher –1966 Chevy Chevelle, Bill McElroy, DuBois.

Longest Distance Award, sponsored by The William A. White Family –1974 Mercury Comet GT, John Glernacky, Greensburg.

Mayor’s Trophy, Sponsored by Clearfield Mayor Jim Schell –1970 Buick Electra 225, Dwight Smalley, McElahattan.

Oldest Vehicle, Sponsored by: Mabel’s Pizza Shop, Clearfield –1922 Franklin Touring, Mac Dufton

Charles J. Ross Memorial Award: 1970 Opel GT, Jerry & Kathy Carr, Philipsburg.

Best FORD in Show, Sponsored by Dotts Motor Co. and FORD –1955 Ford Customline, Robert & Rebecka Risbon, Altoona.

Best in Show Award: Sponsored by Starr Hill Vineyard & Winery –1930 Ford Model A Woody, Dave Walk, Tyrone.

This years door prizes was donated by Osceola Mills Auction Barn, Osceola Mills.

Rick Beausigneur, Clearfield was the 50/50 winner.

The 1966 Ford Mustang was the last item of business for the day and the winner was David Blommen of Brockway. The club thanks everyone who helped make the show a success, and those who stopped by and visited the club members while taking the Mustang to the local car shows.

The club is always looking for new members. Visit the club at the Grice Clearfield Community Museum on Wednesday, Sept. 20 at 7:30 p.m. for the monthly meeting.

Next year’s car show will be Sunday, Aug. 19, 2018.

About Craig Ballantyne 17766 Articles
I love anything to do with Harley Davidson and have two beautiful children and a beautiful partner. In my spare time i like building websites and love anything to do with the internet.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.